For the 29 trophies to be awarded at the 4th Annual Global Poker Awards on March 3, most of their final nominees are now public knowledge. The voting panel went through two rounds of voting to narrow the field of potential nominees to the final list. The winners, known only to a select few at the Global Poker Index, will be announced on March 3 at the PokerGO Studio in Las Vegas (and on the free livestream via PokerGO).

This is not an exhaustive list of the awards categories.

There are still four categories awaiting the final public voting to finish. And there are a few awards to go to members of the poker community selected by an elite group of GPI and THM (The Hendon Mob) folks. But we have the results of 17 categories, at least as far as the final nominees. Only a select few of the powers-that-be know the names of the actual winners. The masses will find out on March 3.

The Nominees

Jamie Kerstetter, Espen Jorstad, Ethan “Rampage” Yau, and Marle Spragg are each nominated twice. Stephen Song is nominated twice on top of the two GPI Awards (GPI Player of the Year and GPI Mid-Major Player of the Year) that he is already guaranteed to receive.

Let’s check out all of the categories and nominees available.

The Players’ Choice for Toughest Opponent award nominees are:

  • Brian Altman (USA)
  • Stephen Chidwick (England)
  • Alex Foxen (USA)
  • Stephen Song (USA)

The Best Final Table Performance award nominees are:

  • Dan “Jungleman” Cates (USA) at WSOP Poker Players Championship
  • Espen Jorstad (Norway) at WSOP Main Event
  • Daniel Negreanu (Canada) at Super High Roller Bowl VII
  • Stephen Song (USA) at WPT Prime Championship

The GPI Breakout Player award nominees are:

  • Angela Jordison (USA)
  • Espen Jorstad (Norway)
  • Alejandro “PapoMC” Lococo (Argentina)
  • Punnat Punsri (Thailand)
  • Ethan “Rampage” Yau (USA)

The Comeback Player award nominees are:

  • Phil Ivey (USA)
  • Alex Keating (USA)
  • Taylor von Kriegenbergh (USA)
  • Daniel Weinman (USA)

The Twitter Personality award nominees are:

  • Phil Galfond (USA)
  • Will Jaffee (USA)
  • Jamie Kerstetter (USA)
  • Marle Spragg (USA)

The Best Streamer award nominees are:

  • Kevin Martin (Canada)
  • Benjamin Spragg (England)
  • Jon Van Fleet (USA)
  • Lex Veldhuis (Netherlands)

The award nominees for Best Vlogger are:

  • Jaman Burton (USA)
  • Mariano Grandoli (Argentina)
  • Brad Owen (USA)
  • Ethan “Rampage” Yau (USA)

The Rising Star in Content Creation award nominees are:

  • Natalie Bode (USA)
  • Caitlin Comeskey (USA)
  • Jesse Fullen (USA)
  • Lexy Gavin-Mather (USA)

The award nominees for Best Industry Person are:

  • Ryan Beauregard (USA)
  • Jack Effel (USA)
  • Mori Eskandani (Iran/USA)
  • Tana Karn (USA)

The Best Tournament Director award nominees are:

  • Paul Campbell (USA)
  • Ray Pulford (USA)
  • Matt Savage (USA)
  • Toby Stone (England)

The award nominees for Best Event in poker are:

  • EPT Barcelona Main Event
  • Triton Poker Coin Rivet Invitational
  • WSOP Main Event
  • WPT World Championship at Wynn Las Vegas

The Best Mid-Major Circuit/Tour award nominees are:

  • RUNGOOD Poker Series (RGPS)
  • Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT)
  • World Series of Poker Circuit (WSOPC)
  • World Poker Tour Prime (WPTP)

The award nominees for Best Broadcaster are:

  • James Hartigan (Ireland)
  • Jamie Kerstetter (USA)
  • Jeff Platt (USA)
  • Nick Schulman (USA)

The Best Podcast award nominees are:

  • Only Friends Podcast (Matt Berkey, Landon Tice, Conrad Simpson, etc.)
  • Poker in the Ears for PokerStars (James Hartigan, Joe Stapleton)
  • PokerGO Podcast (Tim Duckworth, Donnie Peters, Remko Rinkema)
  • The Chip Race Poker Podcast (David Lappin, Dara O’Kearney, Barry Carter)

The Best Media Content: Written award nominees are:

  • Tim Fiorvanti (USA) for (Andrew Moreno’s dream)
  • Connor Richards (USA) for PokerNews (Erik Seidel’s creativity)
  • Jennifer Shahade (USA) for Wall Street Journal (personal tragedy as a poker player)
  • Robbie Strazynski (Israel/USA) for Cardplayer Lifestyle (father and poker)

The Best Media Content: Video award nominees are:

  • Caitlin Comeskey (USA) (parody of J4 investigation)
  • Joey Ingram (USA) (J4 emergency investigation)
  • Greg “Greg Goes All In” Liow (Canada) (voice overs in poker vlogs)
  • Marle Spragg (USA) (solvers)

The Best Media Content: Photo award nominees are:

  • Antonio Abrego (USA) for PokerGO (Cates wins WSOP bracelet)
  • Heyley Hockstetler (USA) for WSOP (Glantz wins $1M bounty)
  • Alec Rome (USA) for PokerNews/WSOP (Schindler alone in victory)
  • Spenser Sembrat (USA) for PokerNews/WSOP (Sembrat on feature table)

Public Voting Ongoing

As mentioned, four categories remain open for public voting. The current round will close at the end of February 6. And then, the final round will commence and run through February 13.

Click here to find the categories and initial nominees for the peoples’ choice awards.