The WinStar River Poker Series Main Event, a re-entry tournament with a buy-in of $2,500, a guaranteed prize of $2.5 million, and a first-place prize of $1 million will be held at WinStar World Casino Resort at Thackerville in Oklahoma from September 4 to September 8. The event will be reported live by PokerNews.

Click Here For Sites Still Accepting USA Player

The main event will be held at the end of the WinStar River Poker Series, an event that comprises seven tournaments. It began on Aug 27, Thursday with a $$350 buy-in re-entry tournament with a guaranteed prize of $300k. The schedule included events such as a $1,100 buy-in re-entry PL Omaha tournament, a $500 buy-in guaranteed deepstack NL Hold’em tournament with a guaranteed prize of $100k, a $300 NL Hold’em turbo re-entry tournament, a $1,100 buy-in and $100k guaranteed deepstack tournament, and a $1,100 buy-in NL Hold’em bounty turbo re-entry tourney.

Mario Ho, ambassador for WinStar, said: “This will be the sixth year in a row that I’ve been going to the River Poker Series and each and every year is bigger and better than the last. The WinStar is an awesome resort but you might not want to miss the around-the-clock poker action. It’s honestly one of the best value tournaments all year and I’m excited PokerNews will be there covering all the action from this prestigious event.”

The $2,500 buy-in main event will have three starting flights, and each participant will receive a starting stack with 25,000 chips. Day 1 will feature 40-minute levels and Day 2 and Day 3 will feature 60-minute levels.

Donnie Peters, the editor-in-chief of PokerNews, said that PokerNews is excited about returning to the WinStar World Casino Resort to cover the main event live. The event attracted player fields of more than 1,300 in 2012 as well as 2014 and expects a similar player field this year too. According to Peters, players will not be able to resist the event because of its guaranteed prize of $2.5 million and first-place prize of $1 million.

Last year’s champion was Jason Helder, who beat a 1,323-strong field to win $1 million. Players who finished in the cash were Travis Rice, Jonathan Gaviao, Kevin Eyster, Joseph Cheong, and David Baker.

Previous champions of the event are Kaophone Inthavong (2013), Aaron Massey (2012), Bronson Tucker (2011), Khoueng Souvoravong (2010), Bobby Hempkins (2009), and Jim Carroll (2008).

Players can learn more about the event by visiting the casino’s official website

This site is registered on as a development site.