Party Poker has assembled a team of 22 players that will be leaving for the Asian Poker Tour Philippines event. Team Party Poker consists of the players who won the 22 $6,000 APT Philippines prize packages that the room has been giving away over the last couple of months. Team Party Poker will be led by Irish Poker Championship winner Rory Brennan and will include other players from all over the world.
The Asian Poker Tour Philippines event will be held in Manila at the Dusit Thani Hotel and will last from January 27th to February 1st. Players from the Party Poker team will not only get the chance to compete in the Main Event tournament, but they will also get the opportunity to attend one of the hottest parties of the year.
The FHM/DafaPoker Player’s Party will feature FHM cover models in addition to the celebrities and famous poker players in attendance. FHM and the Asian Poker Tour have hired buses to take players to the most popular Manila night clubs after the party is over.
After attending the big party, Team Party Poker players will be looking to carry on a tradition of finishing in the money. A spokesperson for the room summed this up by saying, “Some of the players who qualified for the Asian Poker Tour only invested a few dollars to secure their thriller in Manila. Last year, plenty of the online qualifiers ended up in the money so we’ll be looking for a repeat performance or better!”
The biggest winner of the 2008 APT Philippines Main Event was David “Superman” Saab, who took first place and the $200,000 top prize. Saab made his way to the title by defeating a field of 316 players; his heads-up opponent was Korea’s Chris Roh. Saab and Roh played quite a few poker hands before the tournament came to a conclusion. Chris Roh went all-in on the final hand while holding K-4, but Saab called him with pocket aces. Saab’s hand only got better when the board showed A-7-4-9-10 and this gave him the 2008 APT Philippines title.
Here is how the final table finished out:
1st place: David Saab $280,000
2nd place: Chris Roh $150,000
3rd place: Satoru Ishii $100,000
4th place: Kwang Soo Lee $73,000
5th place: Michele Ferrari $55,000
6th place: Man Jin Yun $45,000
7th place: Don Carmon $35,000
8th place: Terry Gonzaga $25,000
9th place: Gerasimos Deres $20,000

This site is registered on as a development site.