Since there are just a few weeks left for the World Series of Poker (WSOP) to begin in Las Vegas and the World Poker Tour (WPT) has already begun, competition for the top position on Card Players’ 2012 Player of the Year (POY) leaderboard is getting intense.

Click Here For Sites Still Accepting USA Players

The top ten players on the POY leaderboard are David Sands, Mohsin Charania, Sean Jazayeri, Andrew Chen, Dan Smith, Jonathan Duhamel, Faraz Jaka, Daniel Kelly, John Dibella, and Oliver Speidel, from bottom to top. But things are expected to change soon, with poker players Truesdell, Serock, Baldwin, and others getting closer to the top.

Justin Truesdell, who plays with the username truesyalose, has won the $1,600 New Orleans WSOP Circuit 2012 Main Event, an NL Texas Hold’em event. He emerged at the top of a player field of 694 players and collected a cool prize of $204,747, a gold ring, and 840 POY points, which takes him to the 91st position on the leaderboard. This is the second time Truesdell has won the WSOP Circuit Main Event.

Thirty-year-old Truesdell, a professional poker player hailing from New Orleans, is known for his spectacular performance at the multi table tournaments. Since he has been steadily winning from 2005, he has won cash 82 times and a total prize of $900,000 playing online poker. He expects to win more cash at the WSOP National Championship in Las Vegas.

Besides, the winner of the $25,000 WPT Championship Main Event will get a cash prize of 1,171,358 and 1,008 POY points. The event has now reached its fifth day and the player field of 152 has reduced to just 19 players. The most talented of these players are Joe Serock, who is at position 14 on the leaderboard; Moon Kim, who occupies position 22, and Steve O’Dwyer, who occupies position 44. If these players win this event, they will occupy any of the top ten positions on the leaderboard. The chances of Serock moving to position 2 if he wins this event are high.

A number of professional poker players have enjoyed great success in the Five Star World Poker Classic. Eric Baldwin, who won the Player of the Year title in 2009, made cash wins five times during the prelims of this event. Cliff Josephy, who emerged as the champion of the very first event, became richer by $165,249 and 432 POY points, which pushed him to the position 129 on the leaderboard.

This site is registered on as a development site.