PokerAsia Pacific has reported that Joe Cabret, Van Marcus, Tino Lechich, Michael Guttman, Grant Levy, and David Steicke have been nominated for induction into the Australian Poker Hall of Fame, which currently has 14 members. This bit of news is significant considering the fact that the focus of the poker world is now on the Aussie Millions, the biggest series of 2015.

The Australian Poker Hall of Fame was created in 2009-10 to honor the best poker players of New Zealand and Australia. That year, nine players were inducted into it, including Joe Hachem, the winner of the World Series of Poker (WSOP) 2005 Main Event; Jeff Lisandro, who won the WSOP six times; Billy Argyros, Tony Guoga, Lee Nelson, Gary Benson, Maurie Pears, Mel Judah, and Marsha Waggoner.

Click Here For Sites Still Accepting USA Player

Ever since, two players were selected from a list of nominees every year for induction into the Australian Poker Hall of Fame. While Danny McDonagh and Leo Boxell were inducted in 2010-11, David Gorr and Jason Gray were inducted in 2011-12. Nobody was inducted in 2012-13, but in 2013-14, Graeme Putt was inducted.

Among the nominees, Marcus occupies the 18th rank in Australia’s list of top-earning poker pros. The Hendon Mob states that he has earned $1,372,294 playing live poker tournaments. Cabret occupies the 17th rank in the top-earner list, having earned $1,415,050 in live poker tournaments. Recently, he finished second in the Aussie Millions 2013 Main Event and won a prize of AU$1,000,000.

Guttman holds the 25th rank, having earned $975,385 in live poker tournaments. He has not only finished in one of the top three positions in WSOP events, but has also earned four Aussie Millions titles. Lechich holds the 23rd rank, having earned $1,074,732 playing live poker tournaments. He won AU$22,264 playing the PokerNews Cup PL Omaha side event of 2007.

One of the toughest nominees is Steicke, who has won $3,364,260 playing live poker tournaments and occupies the sixth rank in the top-earner list. He won the Aussie Millions 2009 $100k Challenge after defeating 23 players and won a huge prize of AU$1,200,000. Levy, along with Steicke, are most likely to be inducted this year. Levy occupies the 10th rank, having earned $2,087,336 playing live poker.

Levy also happens to be the first Aussie poker player to win a huge seven-figure prize in 2007, when he became the champion of the Main Event of the APPT Sydney and took home AU$1,000,000.