A CardPlayer.com report on the results of the recently concluded PokerStars Eureka Poker Tour Bulgaria event states that Petar Zografov, the Bulgarian poker player, is the first poker player from Bulgaria to win the championship title of this event.

Click Here For Sites Still Accepting USA Players

Zografov, who battled against a total of 246 players who took part in this event, had to play an intense 3-hour heads-up match against Lithuanian player Algirdas Saveikis, in order to win this championship. The Lithuanian player had begun the heads-up match as the player with the largest stack of chips.

Zografov is happy about his success. He said, “To win the trophy in my own country is the perfect situation, I feel great.” This is the second edition of the PokerStars Eureka Poker Tour Bulgaria, which is held in Bulgaria.

Although he was the last man standing, the Bulgarian poker player won a cash prize much lower than that of the runner up Algirdas Saveikis. Being the chip leader in the initial phases of the heads-up match, the Lithuanian player had struck a deal with Zografov, according to the terms of which, the Bulgarian player collected a prize of €48,745 and the Lithuanian player collected a prize of €51,645. The heads-up was packed with intense poker action, with each player pulling up ahead of the other every once in a while.

The most exciting part of the heads-up was the last hand. Zografov raised to 100k and Saveikis called the raise. Zografov then bet 75k when Saveikis checked, and Saveikis raised the bet to 180k. Zografov had to reload in order to raise it to 3265k, and immediately Saveikis bet all-in, a bet worth as much as €1.2 million. The showdown revealed that Zografov had a much better hand, owing to which he grabbed the coveted championship title and Saveikis finished second.

The exciting PokerStars event was run in Golden Sands Resort’s Grand Casino International, its highlight being the Main Event, which lasted from June 7 to June 10 and had a buy in of €1,000.

As the champion of the event, Bulgarian player Petar Zografov got €48,745. The runner-up was Lithuanian player Algirdas Saveikis, who got €51,645. The players who finished third, fourth, and fifth were Ted Stolzenbach, Slaven Popov, and Michal Misterek, who won €22,050, €17,300, and €14,300, respectively. The players who finished sixth, seventh, and eighth were Daniel Karlson, Deyan Stanev, and Nagy Barnabas, who got €11,900, €9,550 and €7,600, respectively.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.