Party Poker has set the European Open V dates for February 6th – February 13th, 2009 and the event will be held in London. This 72 person, $7,000 buy-in tournament will also be broadcasted on international television through the UK’s “Five” and will see many of poker’s biggest names in attendance.
Some of the famous players who will be at the European Open V include Roland de Wolfe, Annette Obrestad, Padraig Parkinson, Donnacha O’Dea, Neil Channing, Barny Boatman, Ciaran O’Leary, Liam Flood, Surinder Sunar, Thomas Bihl, and Marc Goodwin.
Matchroom Sport has organized this tournament and it will proceed in the following format: a preliminary round consisting of 12 six-seat heats, a semi-final round with 2 seven-seat heats, and a final round with six players. Those who finish in the top 3 of the semi-final rounds will get to take their chip stack on into the final round where $200,000 awaits the first place finisher. $504,000 will be in the total prize pool with those at the final table scooping most of it.
As mentioned before, this is a $7,000 buy-in event, but players can also buy seats with their Party Points through the Party Poker online store. For 75,000 Party Points, a person can appear on international television competing for the $504,000 prize pool with poker’s biggest stars.
The Director of Matchroom Sport, Eddie Hearn, commented on the seats by saying,

“Seats for this event were sold out in record time and we are excited to welcome a stellar field to London in February.”

Another spokesperson for the room added that,

“A seat at the European Open V is attractive; it comes with guaranteed television coverage in countries all over the world. The only way to get a seat now is to quickly secure one of those we have in the online store.”

A 45 year-old Preston, Lancashire (UK) man named Nick Slade was the overall winner of last year’s European Open IV; he took home the first place prize of $200,000. Slade was able to outlast a final table which included Juha Helppi, Annette Obrestad, Ian Frazer, and Ian Taylor before battling Craig Burgess in heads-up play. The last hand saw Slade (who was holding K-3) call Burgess after he moved all-in with Q-Q. Burgess clearly had the advantage, but Slade was able to pair his king while the board brought Burgess nothing.
Here are the results of the final table:
1st place: Nick Slade $200,000
2nd place: Craig Burgess $100,000
3rd place: Ian Frazer $50,000
4th place: Annette Obrestad $30,000
5th place: Josh Tyler $25,000
6th place: Juha Helppi $20,000

This site is registered on as a development site.