Party Poker has announced that they will be holding a $1 million guaranteed tournament on the first Sunday of every month. This new promotion will called the Monthly Million and the Main Event starts at 12:45 ET on selected Sundays. Those hoping to enter this large tournament can buy directly into the Monthly Million for $640.

Those who can’t afford the $640 buy-in can also get into the Monthly Million by playing in satellites and freerolls at Party Poker. Some of the satellite tournaments cost as little as $1 to enter and people can also use their PartyPoints to get into the Daily Player Points Qualifiers. Those who play in the Daily Player Points Qualifiers will have a shot at the 20 Monthly Million seats that are given away every Friday.

The announcement of the Monthly Million comes fresh off the heels of the Irish Poker Championship which Party Poker recently sponsored. The Irish Poker Championship was the first major poker tournament of 2009 and was held in Galway, Ireland. 255 players paid the ₤2,000 buy-in to enter the IPC and some of poker’s biggest names showed up to participate in it; Dave “Devilfish” Ulliott, Kenna James, Mike Sexton, Padraig Parkinson, and Jon Kalmar all entered the tournament.

The final day of the IPC featured the last eight players of the tourney and here is how their chip stacks looked:

Seat 1 – Peter Murphy; 94,500 chips
Seat 2 – David Curtis; 146,500 chips
Seat 3 – Ben Vinson; 581,580 chips
Seat 4 – David Poole; 181,100 chips
Seat 5 – Chris Dowling; 147,000 chips
Seat 6 – Derek Murray; 183,500 chips
Seat 7 – Krystof Gwvsko; 304,000 chips
Seat 8 – Rory Brennan; 1,058,000 chips

Play at the final table was very aggressive with players betting and raising quite frequently. Nobody at the table was relying on their poker odds to carry them to victory which made things very interesting. In the end, Rory Brennan and Chris Dowling played their poker hands the best and moved on to heads-up play. Dowling decided to make a bold move by going all-in with 9-6, but Brennan called him with A-10 and got another ace from the board to win the Irish Poker Championship.

Here is how the final standings looked along with how much money each player won:

1. Rory Rees Brennan €160,000.00
2. Chris Dowling €90,000.00
3. Ben Vinson €55,000.00
4. David Poole €30,000.00
5. David Curtis €20,000.00
6. Krzysztof Gwvszko €15,000.00
7. Peter Murphy €12,500.00
8. Derek Murray €10,000.00

This site is registered on as a development site.