Maxim Sorokin has won the Card Player Poker Tour (CPPT) Wynn Classic Main Event, which lasted for four days and had as finalists Keven Stammen, the champion of the World Poker Tour (WPT); Jared Hamby, the winner of the World Series of Poker (WSOP) bracelet; Dan Alspach; and Eric Molina. Sorokin had to defeat Kevin Calenzo in a heads-up match to claim the CPPT championship title, the first-place prize of $101,619, and 408 Card Player Player of the Year (POY) Points.

Click Here For Sites Still Accepting USA Player

The chip lead position shifted from one player to the other several times during the heads-up match, but ultimately, Sorokin emerged as the champion of the event.

This was the second time Calenzo ran deep into a CPPT Wynn Main Event. He had finished in the sixth place in a $5000 buy-in NL Hold’em Main Event in 2013, for which he had won a prize of $43,672. This time, as the runner-up of the event, Calenzo returned home with $82,042 and 340 POY Points.

The second stop of the third season of the CPPT attracted 248 participants, who generated more than the guaranteed prize, taking it up to $481,120. When the game reached its last day, only 13 players survived.

The first player to be eliminated was Jon Lacatoen and the next to be eliminated was Ryan Leadem, whose pocket sevens proved no match for Sorokin’s pocket kings. After some time, Richard Hawes busted.

With Hawes out of the game, the ten finalists began playing at one table. After this, the first player to be eliminated was Leo Wolpert, who lost to Calenzo’s pocket aces when he was holding pocket jacks. The next player to quit was Hamby, whose pocket jacks could not stand against Sorokin’s pocket sevens when the board turned up a ten, four, three, five, and six.

Later, Stammen, Chang, Aslpach, and Karin were quickly eliminated. Four-handed play lasted for a long time, after which Eric Molina folded and left the table. When Stephen Graner finished in the third place, Calenzo and Sorokin were left playing heads-up.

The players who finished first and second were Maxim Sorokin and Kevin Calenzo, who won $101,619 and $82,024, respectively. The players who finished third, fourth, fifth, and sixth were Stephen Graner ($53,501), Eric Molina ($39,933), Zohair Karim ($27,328), and Timothy Chang ($20,448), respectively. The players who finished seventh, eighth, and ninth were Dan Alspach ($17,320), Keven Stammen ($14,241), and Jared Hamby ($11,691), respectively.

This site is registered on as a development site.