Some of the biggest names in poker showed up for event number nine of the 2008 Aussie Millions, the $100,000 No-Limit Hold‘em event, only to suffer a resounding defeat to Howard Lederer, also known as “The Poker Professor”. Howard Lederer, brother of world famous woman poker star Annie Duke, came to Australia to play some serious poker and after winning the biggest purse of the 2008 Aussie Millions he must be happy that he did.

The Aussie Millions– held at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, Australia– is one of the most famous events in poker and receives a massive amount of coverage due to the consistently large winner’s purses. This year some of the biggest pros in the business have been showing up to compete and the Main Event is highly anticipated. Event number nine was no letdown for spectators as the pool of 25 contestants included last year’s event winner Erick Lindgren along with Gus Hansen, Phil Ivey, Erik Seidel, Tony G, Chris “Jesus” Ferguson and Masaaki Kagawa. Many online superstars were present for a chance at the $2.5 million prize pool including Michael ‘Timex’ McDonald, Tom ‘durrr’ Dwan and Jeff ‘ActionJeff’ Garza.

Gus Hansen, who many thought was a strong contender for this tournament, had a disappointing run and finished close to dead last. The action was steady at the beginning of the tournament and Hansen was eliminated after losing a big hand to Erick Lindgren early on. Erick Lindgren proved to be the main headhunter this tournament after he took down another one of the poker giants at the table, Tony G.

The competition heading into the final table was intense although the chip stacks were highly varied. Before the finalists began competing the table looked like this:

Seat 1: Michael Sampoerna – 125,000
Seat 2: Nikolaus Jedlicka – 446,000
Seat 3: Howard Lederer – 202,000
Seat 4: Erick Lindgren – 574,000
Seat 5: Jeff Garza – 496,000
Seat 6: Mark Teltscher – 171,000
Seat 7: Jeff Lisandro – 192,000
Seat 8: Tom Dwan – 299,000

The internet wizards were the first to fall: Dwan and Garza were the first players to be eliminated from the final table. Last year’s winner Erick Lindgren left soon after losing. He lost all of his chips early in the round to Michael Sampoerna. Lindgren had a pair of kings pre-flop and came out betting hard. Sampoerna was not willing to back down and his diligence paid off as he hit his flush on the turn. Niki Jedlicka was the next to fall again to Sampoerna, who at this point was accumulating an intimidating chip stack.

Action at the table slowly progressed as Lederer patiently worked his way to chip leader over the course of the final table. In less than an hour “The Professor” claimed victory against Mark Teltsher, taking home the first place trophy. The $1.25 million dollar purse that came with his trophy is officially the second largest winner’s check in the Aussie Millions history.

The final results were as follows:


Prize Money


Town / City




Howard Lederer

Las Vegas




Mark Teltscher





Michael Sampoerna





Jeffrey Lisandro





Nikolaus Jedlicka




This site is registered on as a development site.