Fintan Gavin, the Irish professional poker player, because the first Irish player to win the second season of UK and Ireland Poker Tour (UKIPT), the Edinburg tournament. He had to beat a huge sea of 519 tough opponents to win a grand prize of $61,500, by which the total amount of money he has won playing live tournaments has risen above the $1 million mark. The event, which is being sponsored by PokerStars, lasted for 3 days with the final day being nothing short of dramatic and inspiring.

Click Here For Sites Still Accepting USA Players

The Irish poker player had started the third day of the tournament as the chip leader, but fell back after three players were eliminated from the final table. He had to play really hard, and by the time only four players were left standing, he pulled up to grab the first UKIPT title he had ever won.

Andrew Hawksby, the British professional poker player, emerged as the runner up of the Edinburg tournament although he gave a tough time to Gavin. In fact, Gavin was in the lead till he got pocket rockets during the second half of the heads up tournament between him and Hawksby. However, Hawksby lost the lead when the final hand was being played. When Gavin raised on Jd-9s, he called with 9c-6s and was unable to improve his hand, owing to which he emerged as the runner up to Gavin.

Needless to say, Gavin must have been delighted to find himself with a UKIPT championship. Gavin was the top second player at the Barcelona tournament of the European Poker Tour (EPT) in 2008. Hawksby, who was playing his first live poker tournament, must have been equally delighted to have emerged second.

Throughout his poker gaming career, Fintan Gavin has 10 live cashes and 2 live wins to his credit. His largest live cash was when he won 792,000 after finishing second at the EPT 2008 Main Event.

The list of winners and the amount they won as prizes is as follows: Fintan Gavin, the top first player, won a cool prize of £61,500. The top second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth players were Andrew Hawksby, Jamie Dale, Thomas Ward, George Clyde-Smith, Craig Brown, Antonis Poulengeris, and Rob Swindells, who won £37,400, £22,900, £16,850, £13,100, £10,500, £8,050, and £6,300, respectively.

The next UKIPT tournament will be played at Dublin in Ireland at the Ballsbridge Inn from September 8 to September 12.

This site is registered on as a development site.