A dramatic finish — this was how Daniel Negreanu described his overall performance for the year after he went on to capture the 2019 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Player of the Year (POY) title, denying rival Shaun Deeb his second consecutive POY title.
The €550 buy-in Colossus event at this year’s WSOPE, which was ultimately taken down by French pro Bertrand Grospellier, served as the final chance for poker pros to rack up points for the POY leaderboard. Negreanu was leading the race, with two-time bracelet winner Robert Campbell trailing behind him in second place, and Deeb in third place.
Campbell and Deeb needed to finish at best in fifth place in the Colossus event to topple Negreanu off the top spot. Unfortunately for them, they did not have the results they would like at the Colossus event. Campbell exited early, earning €1,325 for taking the 148th spot, while Deeb fell short of making it to the final table after being eliminated in 11th place for €12,543. Negreanu did not have a good run at the event and finished in the 195th position.
Journey to WSOP POY
This year, a total of 97 gold bracelets have been awarded, including 83 during the summer in Las Vegas, and 14 at the recently concluded WSOPE in Rozvadov. However, the 2019 POY winner Daniel Negreanu failed to win even one WSOP bracelet this year which is a first in the WSOP POY’s 16-year history.
What placed Negreanu at the top of the leaderboard were 24 cashes, including two runner-up finishes in the $10,000 Stud Championship and the $100K High Roller in Vegas, as well as five final tables. His POY quest had a great start back in June when he was able to finish 6th in the $10,000 Super Turbo Bounty at the 2019 WSOP. He followed it up with a series of cashes, earning him much needed points.
Negreanu scored a total of 17 cashes at the 2019 WSOP and added 7 more at the WSOPE in Rozvadov, collectively winning $2,213,605. However, he achieved these numbers by taking advantage of multiple re-entries in some events.
This is Negreanu’s third POY title, having won his first in 2004, and his second in 2013.
2019 WSOP POY Standings: Top 7 Players
The final results of the 2019 WSOP POY race are as follows:
Two-time WSOP bracelet winner Robert Campbell is in second place with (3,961) points, defending POY winner Shaun Deeb sits in third place with (3,917) points while American poker pro and WPT/WSOP winner Anthony Zinno holds the fourth place with (3,322) points.
WSOP $50K Poker Players Championship winner Philip Hui is in fifth place with (3,186) points while 2019 WSOP $2500 buy-in limit mixed triple draw champ Daniel Zack is in sixth place with (3,126) points and 2019 WSOP Main Event runner-up Dario Samartino is in seventh place with (3,091) points.
WSOP POY Needs to be Fixed
In a tweet, Negreanu said that while his POY victory does not involve any cash prize, he felt proud of his achievement which serves as recognition of his hard work and long grueling days competing against some of the best in the game. However, the Canadian poker pro also acknowledged that the WSOP POY needs to be fixed in terms of how points are awarded.
Among his recommendations is limiting cashes that count to just 12, increasing points for top 27 finishes as well as final tables, as well as reducing points for WSOP Main Event final table.
Daniel Negreanu also suggested that points should also be reduced according to the number of re-entries. This, according to him, would favor quality over quantity, contrary to the current guidelines.
Since 2017, the WSOP has changed its POY points policy which has seen a wider gap between points awarded for the first and second-place finishes. The changes were implemented to give bigger points for players who run deep, while at the same time still rewarding consistency. The main modifiers are buy-ins and field sizes. These policies has received criticism among players, with some saying it favors quantity over quality.
Some of the other previous winners of the POY title include Jason Mercer, Mike Gorodinsky, George Danzer, Greg Merson, Ben Lamb, Frank Kassela, Jeff Lisandro, Erick Lindgren, Tom Schneider, Jeff Madsen, and Allen Cunningham.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.