Several poker players scored a large number of Card Player Player of the Year (POY) Points at the European Poker Tour (EPT) Barcelona live poker series, which are being held in Gran Casino, Hotel Arts in Barcelona, which is the second biggest city in Spain. The Card Player POY Race 2012 is being sponsored by Lock Poker. Dan Smith shot to the top of the POY leader board by winning the EPT Barcelona Super High-roller Event, a €50,000 buy-in event. Besides, a number of other players won POY points and cash prizes this week.

Click Here For Sites Still Accepting USA Players

Belarus-based poker player Mikalai Pobal won the PokerStars European Poker Tour (EPT) Barcelona Main Event, which had a buy-in of €5,300. Pobal added a cool prize of €1,007,005 to his bankroll along with 1,920 POY Points. He now shares the 27th place on the POY leader board with Panayote “Pete” Vilandos.

The event had a player field of 1,081 players, owing to which the prize pool had swollen to an impressive €5,247,700. Pobal beat Ilari “Ziigmund” Sahamies, the phenomenal high-stakes poker player from Finland, and emerged as the last man standing. Sahamies got the runner up prize of €629,700 with 1,600 POY points.

A few days back, Sahamies had finished in the fourth position in the €50,000 EPT Barcelona Super High Roller event and now occupies the 29th position in the POY leader board with a total poker earning of $1,147,908 and 1,906 POY Points.

Laurent Polito of France won the €10,300 High Roller Event, collecting a huge prize of €270,229 with 600 POY Points. He beat a player field of 111 players to win the title. Although the chip leader of the final table was Tobias Reinkemeier of Germany, it was Polito who emerged as the last man standing. Jean-Noel Thorel finished sixth and won €54,390, Bertrand Grospellier finished 7th and won €43,150, Jonathan Duhamel finished 10th and won €27,190, and Andrew Lichtenberger finished 11th and won €24,470.

The top twenty players on the POY 2012 leader board, from the first to the twentieth, are Dan Smith (4,100), Kyle Julius (3,752), Marvin Rettenmaier (3,272), Oliver Speidel (3,046), Anthony Gregg (2,984), Vadzim Kursevich (2,717), Joe Kuether (2,716), John Dibella (2,512), Daniel Kelly (2,508), Phil Ivey (2,495), Davidi Kitai (2,474), David Baker (2,385), Sean Jazayeri (2,368), Faraz Jaka (2,360), Brendon Rubie (2,352), Johnathan Duhamel (2,320), Michael Mizrachi (2,270), Tommy Vedes (2,216), Shannon Shorr (2,200), and Andrew Chen (2,157).

This site is registered on as a development site.