The nominees for the 2016 Poker Hall of Fame (PHOF) include Chris Moneymaker, David ‘Devilfish’ Ulliott, Chris Bjorin, Carlos Mortensen, Humberto Brenes, Matt Savage, Eli Elezra, Max Pescatori, Bruno Fitoussi and Todd Brunson. The PHOF inducts just two individuals into the PHOF each year and this year the jury will have a hard time finalizing the two names as all of the nominees have a great reputation in the industry.

There are some in the poker community who disagree with this as they believe that Chris Moneymaker hasn’t done enough to be a part of the PHOF. Moneymaker’s biggest claim to fame has been winning the 2003 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event and taking home $2.5 million. This is undoubtedly the highlight of his poker career and has been credited by gaming analysts to be one of the biggest reasons for the boom in the poker industry after 2003 as thousands of amateur poker players from around the world decided to take the game more seriously.

Click Here For Sites Still Accepting USA Player

Since then Moneymaker hasn’t enjoyed a lot of success and based on the Hendon Mob his career prize money till date is just over $3.6 million, with $2.5 million of that amount coming from his 2003 WSOP win. He is rated 155th on the all time US prize money list and 4,333rd on the Global Poker Index. He has had a rather lean run on the poker circuit for a number of years and hence quite a few individuals in the poker community believe that he needs to do a lot more to cement his place in the PHOF.

Moneymaker is aware that there has been a lot of criticism after he was confirmed as one of the nominees for the 2016 PHOF but he is not letting this faze him as he believes he has done enough over the years to promote the game and grow poker around the world to be a part of the prestigious PHOF.

In a statement, Moneymaker said “Some players may feel like I do not meet the criteria of a Hall of Fame player, but I believe I have done enough off the felt to be considered for the honor. I have worked hard over the last decade trying to promote and lobby for the game of poker and hope the nomination stems from that more than just my win in 2003.”

Moneymaker believes that the two individuals who are most deserving to be inducted into the 2016 PHOF are Matt Savage and Carlos Mortensen.

TightPoker Staff

TightPoker Staff